This life hack is one I’ve been interested in for a while. Buzzfeed, a popular website with those seeking life hacks, posted a video of them making something they called “ice cream bread”. It’s only two ingredients; melted ice cream and self-rising flour.

I knew I had to try it as soon as I saw it. Really? Bread from ice cream? I mean, it could be plausible. Self-rising flour contains baking powder, which would classify this concoction as a quick bread. But ice cream had me skeptical. Would it be more cake like? Muffin like, or banana bread like? Or would it really be like a spongy white bread?

The recipe I used comes directly from the Buzzfeed website, and consists of 2 cups melted ice cream of your choice, and 1 ¼ cups self-rising flour. Mix the two together until it forms a batter.

Then, pour it into a greased loaf pan, and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for around 30-40 minutes.

When it came out, it definitely looked like a cake more than a bread. With the smooth top, it didn’t seem like any bread I’ve tried. But the only way to truly find out what it’s like was to cut it open.

I cut it while it was still warm, so it was very gummy. Just like bread, but the grain was far more cakey. I took a bite, and… gross. It felt like glue, and had no flavour. The flour completely removed all flavour of ice cream, and it just tasted like paste. Really gross paste. I thought, maybe if I let it cool, it would not only cut easier, but taste better.

It didn’t.

It was still tasteless, still gummy, still awful. Maybe not every “life hack” is worth trying.

Leave a Reply

