In mid-December I had the opportunity to participate in a fundraiser for a local animal rescue group. This gave me the ability to show my skills and passion for what I do. It took a lot for effort to get all the product made, and many hours. I did not realize at the time how difficult it would be to make all the products, and how much work it was going to be.

Once I got there and had my table set up, I was very proud of what I had accomplished. I had made twelve dozen white and whole wheat buns, as well as a dozen egg twist loafs and dozens of cookies and if it wasn’t for the help of my fiancee packaging all the products, it never would have gotten done in time.

Once we were set up, all we had to do was wait for the people to come or at least that’s what we though. We ended up hardly selling any of our products at the end of the night. I left feeling very disappointed and like I had wasted my time and effort. I also had no idea what I was going to do with dozens of buns and cookies left over. There was no way my family and I could possibly eat all of the leftovers.

I got up the next morning still feeling kinda crummy. That’s when it hit me I could donate it all the youth center. So I called them and they told me to bring it down and they would love to have it. Once we got there and unloaded it in the their kitchen, I had a feeling that maybe that was where these baked goods where meant to be all along.

 

Leave a Reply

