Apple Cake Adventures (Comparison):Apple Spice Vs Spiced Apple

(Recipes at the bottom)

Today I made two mug cakes, I wanted to compare and see which recipe I liked better and would recommend to others. One of the recipes I got from a mug cake book I had previously bought the other I found on one of my favorite Youtubers channels. My first attempt into making mug cakes I hit a couple of road blocks so for my second attempt I took some tips and advice from friends. The first of my trials I used too big of a mug and the cake its self didn’t cook properly. My second attempt I used smaller mugs and I placed the mug on the edge of the rotating plate in the microwave which had a better effect on the cakes.

Mug A: Tough cake that lacked cinnamon flavor. The cake was light in color and the crumb was fine chewy.

Mug B: Open and lighter crumb with a good spiced flavor. The Cake turned out to have a better color and the cake had risen better.

Both: Good Apple Spice scent and a moist cake.

I prefer mug cake B it had better flavor and texture. The cake turned out quite well and I would even make it again.

20170129_203705

Mug A: Apple Spice Mug Cake

(4) Tablespoons All-purpose Flour

(1/4) Teaspoon Baking Powder

(2) Teaspoon Granulated Sugar

(1-1/2) Teaspoon Fat-Free Milk (I used 2%)

(1/8) Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

(2) Tablespoons Unsweetened Applesauce

(2) Tablespoons Chopped Apples 1/2 inch Cubes (I grated the apples)

Topping

(1/2) Cup Heavy Whipping Cream

(2) Teaspoon Granulated Sugar

(1) Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

5-Minute Mug Cakes by Jennifer Lee

 

Mug B: Spiced Apple Mug Cake

(1/4) Cup Self Rising Flour

(3) Tablespoons Applesauce

(1) Golden Delicious Apple (I used Granny Smith)

(1) Tablespoon Milk

(1) Teaspoon Granulated Sugar

(1) Pinch Salt

(1/4) Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

(1) Tablespoon Brown Sugar

(1/4) Teaspoon Allspice

Topping

(1) Pinch Ground Cinnamon

(1) Cinnamon Stick

Rosanna Pansino

-Brieann Anderson

Leave a Reply

