I’m told this recipe is from my dad’s mother and where she got it, I couldn’t say, but I can tell you that my entire family is too hype for this cake and it has haunted every birthday I’ve ever had. Growing up my family had a garden at my uncle’s farm and every summer weekend we would get hauled out to the farm to plant seeds, pulls weeds and anything else you don’t want to do over your summer holidays. And at the end of every summer we’d go back out to harvest vegetables. Just in time for my birthday. While I didn’t appreciate the fresh produce at the time, now, as an adult who pays for food, I’m definitely glad my parents taught me how to grow some of it. Unfortunately it’s not the right season to use homegrown veggies but you can still get them at the supermarket all year round, it’s also a great way to clean out the fridge. Got some old veg? Let them be cake! Ha

So here we go, you’ll need;

3 eggs, 1 cup canola oil, 2 cups sugar, 1 cup shredded zucchini, 1/2 cup shredded carrot, 1/2 cup shredded beet, 2 cups flour, 1 tsp salt, 2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp  cinnamon or nutmeg, 1/2 cup chopped almonds

I used a large shred for my veggies and coarsely chopped the almonds for more texture. If you get a lot of moisture from you veg you should drain some of it off.

You’ll want to mix all the liquid and sugar together, then add the veggies and mix until combined, add all the dry ingredients and mix until blended. It’s going to be weird and pink from the beets.

Pour the batter into two greased 9″ cake pans and bake for 35-45 minutes at 350º F

Let the cakes cool completely before turning out

IMG_8517

Another thing my family is into, is preserves. And like clockwork, we receive a box of jars from my Grandmama every year. This one is peach jam that my Grandpa makes for me without any added pectin and it’s what I used between the cake layers. You can use whatever you want. I also recommend frosting it with cream cheese icing.

Tip: If you don’t have any proper cake decorating tools at home, just tell everyone it’s rustic.

Leave a Reply

